Virginia Robbery laws

Robbery is a heinous crime and can involve violence too depending upon circumstances. The state of Virginia takes this crime seriously and has appointed some stringent laws regarding the robbery

What is a robbery?

Robbery is the crime in which someone appropriates something from another using violence or intimidation in people or force in things (like breaking a window). If the appropriation of something from another is done without violence, intimidation or force in things, it is theft.

An individual is the culprit of robbery with violence or intimidation in people, whether violence or intimidation takes place before the robbery to facilitate its execution, in the act of committing it or after committing it to favor their impunity, will be punished with variable penalties, according to the magnitude of the damage produced. The most serious cases are robbery with homicide and robbery with rape.

The penalty of imprisonment in its maximum degree will be applied to simple perpetual imprisonment when, along with the robbery, castration of the victim takes place; the mutilation of a limb or injuries that leave the victim insane, useless for work, impotent, impeded by an essential or notably deformed member. The penalty of simple perpetual imprisonment differs from the perpetual qualified prison in which the condemned could request his conditional release after 20 years of effective compliance.

Types of Robbery charges:

  • 2nd Degree:

On the off chance that in the commission of a theft, you put the supposed unfortunate casualty in dread of real damage or on the off chance that you utilize a medication, electronic stun, or other such intends to impair the person in question incidentally, you could be accused of 2nd-degree robbery.

A conviction of this offense conveys 5 to 18 years in jail.

  • 1st Degree:

On the off chance that you either utilize brutality against the person in question or debilitate dangerous power with the nearness of a weapon, you could confront the more genuine first-degree robbery allegation. On the off chance that you are indicted for this charge, you could be sentenced to 10 years to life in jail.

Statute:  Virginia Code Section 18.2-58

The penalty for Robbery in Virginia:

In the event that any individual submit burglary by incomplete strangulation, or suffocation, or by striking or beating, or by another savagery to the individual, or by ambush or generally putting a man in dread of genuine real mischief, or by the risk or introducing of guns or other dangerous weapon or instrumentality at all, he will be liable of a crime and will be rebuffed by control in a state remedial office forever or any term at least five years.

 How should the judges determine the penalties?

For repeat offenders, the minimum degree of punishment will not be applied. It is considered recidivism, for these purposes, to have been convicted previously for crimes to which the law indicates equal or greater punishment or for a crime of the same kind.

This entry was posted in Lawyer. Bookmark the permalink.